And Miles to go…

A photo from a 2007 jazz performance, so not the "Beyond Cool" ensembe, but you get the idea.
A photo from a 2007 Allerton Music Barn jazz performance

I’ll admit having mixed feelings when Sarah got us tickets to the Allerton Music Barn Festival’s presentation of Beyond Cool.  To be sure, I was excited about the chance to hear some great (important, even) jazz performed by Illinois music faculty using the original Miles Davis nonet/Gil Evans orchestrations.  But an un-air conditioned barn in central Illinois is late August?  That sounded far from “beyond cool.”

I’m happy to report that the forces of global warming were held at bay, and the evening was actually quite cool –in the mid-60s, in fact– and there was much to admire and appreciate about the experience.  First, the venue is incredible.  It is, indeed, a formerly working hundred-year-old barn, fully and beautifully restored with an upper-level concert space that seats almost 200.  I must admit that I’m not certain why the space was converted: yes, it’s a chance to cross promote U of I initiatives with the School of Music hosting events at Allerton Park, but the 35 minute drive each way did make Smith Hall on campus seem just as appropriate.

The first half of the program featured several selections from The Birth of the Cool, the 1957 compliation of singles from the Miles Davis nonet (which includes a French horn and tuba, so seeing and hearing that instrumentation was an experience in itself).  The second half used the same instrumentation to go “beyond cool,” showcasing compositions or arrangements by the faculty.  I have an unabashed bias toward piano-centric bebop, so while the “cool” style played by such a large ensemble isn’t exactly my first choice, the commitment, skill, and passion of the players provided ample compensation.  Chip McNeill’s alto sax, Jeff Helgesen’s trumpet, and Chip Stephens’ keyboard (especially his solos in the second half) were all highlights.

As much as I listen to and love jazz, this performance made me realize how deficient I am in knowledge of history, movements, and styles.  I know the “cool” of this concert leans a bit too close to the “smooth” of jazz today, but I’m also a fan of Bill Evans, who you’ll find categorized as “cool” or “post-bop” as well.  So in addition to continued listening, I think it’s finally time to add a certain Ken Burns documentary to my Netflix queue.

Leave a comment