Top autumn albums

The air turns crisp; the leaves fall golden to the ground. The neighbor burns those leaves against city ordinance, filling the air with the acrid but familiar smell of smoke. How best to complete the autumnal feast of the senses on this, the first day of fall?

By cranking up the iPod, of course.

When I think of great music for fall, I tend to look for some combination of these qualities:

  • unusual instrumentation, typically acoustic and/or with some form of experimentation with sound
  • lyrics that suggest or attempt profundity (results may vary)
  • general mood that invites moderately depressive introspection
  • optional: previous association with autumn, such as time of first exposure or significant live event
To get my playlist started, I offer these top three albums for autumn (plus a list of runners up), in no particular order:
XXXXX
Andrew Bird, Andrew Bird and the Mysterious Production of Eggs
Top fall track: Masterfade
XXXXX
The Stone Roses, The Stone Roses
Top fall track: I Wanna Be Adored
XXXX
Neutral Milk Hotel, In the Aeroplane over the Sea
Top fall track: Oh Comely

Runners-up:
Wilco, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot | Elvis Costello, When I Was Cruel | Arcade Fire, Funeral | The Delgados, Universal Audio | Sufjan Stevens, Seven Swans | Sweeney Todd, 2005 revival cast | Betty Buckley, Heart to Heart | Jose Gonzales, Veneer | The Decemberists, any.

One thought on “Top autumn albums

  1. Granted, it’s not an album, and it’s much more mainstream than your picks, but “Wake Me Up When September Ends” by Green Day is one of my fave autumnal songs.

    In addition to the obvious fall reference, it meets your profound/depressing criteria with lyrics like these:

    Summer has come and passed
    The innocent can never last
    wake me up when september ends

    and

    here comes the rain again
    falling from the stars
    drenched in my pain again
    becoming who we are

    as my memory rests
    but never forgets what I lost
    wake me up when september ends

Leave a comment